ixa banner2

TTS-IXA Congress Scientific Awards

tts logo

IXA-TTS Congress Scientific Award Winners

  • Se Hyun Choi, Korea

  • Konrad Fischer, Germany

  • Bingsi Gao, USA

  • Wenlong Huang, Canada

  • Mohsen Khosravi Maharlooei, United States

  • Steven Kim, United States

  • Elisa Montanari, Switzerland

  • Beate Rieblinger, Germany

  • Riccardo Sfriso, Switzerland

  • Chang Ho Yoon, Korea

  • Xuan Zhang, People's Republic of China


  1. Submit at least one abstract as a presenting author.
  2. Be a trainee, AHP or resident of an emerging economic country . Trainee members must be within two (2) years of completion of their training and/or fellowship. Members of emerging economic countries must provide proof of residency.
  3. A supporting letter for Young Investigator applicants must be submitted as a part of the award application. This letter must be signed by the applicant’s Training Program Director to verify the grant applicant’s status as a young investigator. Authors will not be considered for an award if the required letter is not sent. The grant applicant MUST be the presenting author. No exceptions will be made.
  4. Attend the designated award presentation session scheduled during the Congress to receive the award.


  1. Awardees will be selected from the pool of eligible applicants based upon the abstract’s degree of excellence (top score) if the condition of three reviews is met, as determined by the Scientific Program Committee.  Otherwise the Awards Committee has the discretion to make a decision based on the scientific merit of the paper.
  2. Every effort will be made by IXA/TTS to award at least one scientific award to an applicant from each of the six TTS geographic regions. The geographic regions are North America, Europe, Latin America, Asia, Middle East & Africa and Oceania.
  3. Final selection of recipients will be determined by the TTS/IXA Awards Committee.

Awards may not exceed a maximum amount of $1,000 USD per awardee.


  1. Awardees must be a member of International Xenotransplantation Association or the The Transplantation Society, awardees who are not already members of will receive complimentary membership to the societie(s) for the year that they receive the award. For more information about IXA and TTS membership visit www.tts.org/join-tts.
  2. Awardees are required to submit a short summary of their experience at the Congress (300 words), and include a profile picture that can be used for Section Congress websites and/or Section promotion within two weeks of the completion of the Congress. Funds will not be transferred until the summary is received. Please send this information to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


  1. Create a user in our Conference Manager website: http://confman.ixa2017.org
  2. Submit your abstract under ‘My Abstracts’ module.
  3. Then, go to the ‘Congress Scientific Awards’ module, click the checkbox ‘I would like to apply’, upload (click on "Select new file" button below) your supporting letter and then click save.

The application deadline was May 1, 2017.

TTS Emerging Economy Nations List

  • Afghanistan
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bangladesh
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Cape Verde
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Colombia
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • Congo, Democratic Republic of
  • Costa Rica
  • Cote D'Ivoire
  • Cuba
  • Djibouti
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • East Timor
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Fiji
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-bissau
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran (Islamic Republic of)
  • Iraq
  • Jamaica
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Kosovo
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Lao People's Democratic Republic
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mayotte
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia, Federated States of
  • Moldova, Republic of
  • Mongolia
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Nepal
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • People's Republic of China
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Romania
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • Somalia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Sudan, South
  • Suriname
  • Swaziland
  • Syrian Arab Republic
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania, United Republic of
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uganda
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela
  • Viet Nam
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

swine header